Giveaway! THE NATIVE STAR by M.K. Hobson

One of the most enjoyable books I’ve read recently is M.K. Hobson’s steampunk/fantasy debut,  The Native Star, released Aug. 31 by Ballantine Spectra. Read about it below, and answer the question at the end for a chance to win a copy for yourself! Drawing will be held on Monday, October 11, and announced here on the blog. One point for comment, plus an extra point if you’re a blog follower, plus another extra point if you follow me on Twitter at @Suzanne_Johnson.

THE NATIVE STAR, by M.K. Hobson
In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson’s captivating take on the Wild, Wild West.

The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession—and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.

Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time—and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine—in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all—the magic of the human heart.

Here’s your question (don’t worry–it’s not a pop quiz–it’s an easy one):
In The Native Star, hero Dreadnought Stanton starts off as a thoroughly unloveable guy I didn’t really want to root for. By the end of the book, I’d done a total 180. Who’s your favorite flawed hero?
This entry was posted in Blog by Suzanne Johnson. Bookmark the permalink.

About Suzanne Johnson

Author of urban fantasy, paranormal romance, and suspense. As Suzanne Johnson, she is the author of the Sentinels of New Orleans urban fantasy series (Royal Street; River Road: Elysian Fields, Pirate’s Alley, Belle Chasse, Frenchmen Street (March 2018). Writing as Susannah Sandlin, she is the author of the Penton Legacy series (Redemption; Absolution; Omega; Storm Force; Allegiance; ILLUMINATION); The Collectors series (Lovely, Dark, and Deep; Deadly, Calm, and Cold); and the Wilds of the Bayou series (Wild Man’s Curse; Black Diamond).

9 thoughts on “Giveaway! THE NATIVE STAR by M.K. Hobson

  1. Yeah. I get three points. Just followed you on twitter. Glad you’re on there. I’m a dork and didn’t notice your Twitter link under Navigation.

    I know, can we say DUH?

    I’m a blog follower, and here I am commenting.
    How fun.

    This sounds like an interesting book. I’m new to the steampunk genre…like really new, so it’d be fun to give it a try.

    Have a great day!

  2. I still love Han Solo!

    Can’t wait to see Castle next week where from the looks of the ads they go to a Steampunk Ball or club.

  3. Hey Suzanne,

    I’ve not read any steampunk yet but this sounds pretty interesting. I’ll have to give it a try.

    For my favorite flawed hero, I think I’m going to go with Zadist from BDB. I really thought he was a jerk but the more you learned about him and how he changed, I really liked him later.